Frye Wins

Published 12:00 am Thursday, November 7, 2013

Two of three incumbents for Mocksville Town Board four-year seats won Tuesday, with challenger Johnny Frye being the only change.

Frye outsted incumbent Richard Broadway, receiving the third most votes among Mocksville voters. Amy Howard Vaughn-Jones won the race for the three seats with 266 votes, followed by Lash Gaither Sanford Jr. with 203 votes and Frye with 198 votes. Broadway and Glen Stanley trailed with 141 and 137 votes, respectively.

Robert Taylor was unopposed for a two-year seat on the Mocksville Town Board with 260 votes.

A total of 10 percent, or 204 of 2,041 voters in North Mocksville voted, 14.4 percent, or 176 of 1,222 voters in South Mocksville voted.

For the three seats on the Bermuda Run Town Council, Ken Bateman led the way with 243 votes, followed by Shirley Cagle with 238 and Ed Coley with 179. Albert C. Zouky received 100. A total of 306 of 2,098 voters cast ballots, 14.59 percent.

Scott Vogler and Brad Waller were elected to the Cooleemee Town Board with 70 and 61 votes, respectively. Chris Branham withdrew from the race at the last minute, and received 12 votes. There were 29 write-in votes in Cooleemee, where 94 of 587 voters cast ballots, or 16.01 percent.