It’s primary time: Davie voters go to the polls Tuesday

Published 11:27 am Tuesday, February 27, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Davie voters will decide on Tuesday four members of the county’s board of education.

They’ll also likely elect at least two of three county commissioners to be sworn into office in December.

Yes, it’s primary time, and while there’s a lot of attention to state and national races, the two local races may decide who gets elected.

Nine candidates see k one of the three Republican nominations for the Davie County Board of Commissioners, with the top three facing Libertarian Justin Vocke in November. GOP candidates are Mike Butero, Mark Jones, Charles O. Williams, Craig Myers, William “Bill” Vaughan, Richard B. Poindexter, Dustin Smith, Terry Renegar and Douglas Rivers.

Six Republican candidates seek one of the four spots on the Davie County Board of Education – Ray Wright, Michael Hunter, W.G. “Dub” Potts, Stephanie Hurst, Jeff Plott and Jeff Jones. Since no other party candidates filed, the top four will likely be elected into office in November.

Precinct polling sites will be open from 6:30 a.m.-7:30 p.m. on Tuesday.

Early voting is still available at the elections office on Poplar Street in Mocksville, at Bermuda Run Town Hall and at Jerusalem Fire Dept., and are open weekdays 8 a.m.-7:30 p.m. The final chance to vote early will be on Saturday from 8 a.m.-3 p.m.

Voters will have to provide photo identification in order to cast a ballot.

More information, including sample ballots, can be found at