Civil Air Patrol cadets earn awards

Published 1:52 pm Tuesday, February 13, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By Deborah Leighton

First Lieutenant, CAP

The Civil Air Patrol Sugar Valley Composite Squadron held the annual Awards Night on Jan. 30 at Sugar Valley Airport.A highlight was the presentation of four awards to cadets, presented by special guests.

Eddy Turner presents Air Force Sergeants award to Isaiah Soto.

Chief Master Sgt. Eddy Turner of the Air Force Sergeants Association Chapter 363 presented the Air Force Sergeants Association Award to C/CMSgt Isaiah Soto. Soto was nominated because he has been a dedicated member of Civil Air Patrol since he joined. His passions are emergency services, drill, and leadership. He serves as the commander of the Color Guard and the first sergeant. Soto is a well-respected NCO in the squadron and at Wing level events.

Wayne Seamon presents the VFW Cadet Officers award to Andrew Ellis.

Wayne Seamon, commander, Cooleemee-Mocksville VFW Post 1119, presented the Veterans of Foreign Wars Award for Cadet NCOs to C/CMSgt Eliza Martinez. Martinez earned this award because of her outstanding leadership in CAP, serving as the flight sergeant and as the unit Cadet Public Affairs Officer. Martinez demonstrates moral character and shows a high level of professionalism in appearance and action. Her patriotism is reflected in her role as a member of the squadron Color Guard. She exemplifies outstanding achievements in community service and in the Aerospace and Leadership portions of the cadet program mentoring the newer cadets.

Seamon also presented the VFW Award for Cadet Officers to C/1st Lt Andrew Ellis. Ellis was nominated because of his outstanding leadership, serving as the Cadet Deputy Commander of Operations. He shows a high level of professionalism in appearance and action and is a role model to the cadets. He expresses patriotism by serving as a member of the Color Guard, with future plans to join the Army following college.

Major Chad Hooper, Commander, NC Wing Group 4, presented the Air and Space Forces Association Outstanding CAP Squadron Cadet Award to C/Maj Levi Gragg. Gragg has been an enthusiastic member of Civil Air Patrol since he joined at the age of 12. He is involved in every area of CAP, with a focus on emergency services and aerospace. C/Maj Gragg currently holds a Ground Team Member 1 trainee rating and is pursuing his private pilot license through CAP’s Cadet Wings Program. Gragg has served in many positions in the squadron. He is an emergency services skills evaluator, a member of the Color Guard, and is currently the Cadet Commander.

Chief Master Sgt. Eddy Turner is a lifetime member of the Air Force Sergeant’s Association (AFSA). He was in the USAF 30 years and served in Desert Storm, the Bosnian War, and Operation Enduring Freedom.

Wayne Seamon was a sergeant first class in the Army and served in Desert Shield and Desert Storm, retiring after 22 years. Senior Vice Commander Alton Mauldin accompanied Seamon.

Chad Hooper serves as Civil Air Patrol NC Wing Group 4 Commander.

For more information about the Sugar Valley Composite Squadron, follow on The squadron meets every Tuesday evening at 6:30 in the Blue Hangar at Sugar Valley Airport, 249 Gilbert Road in Mocksville. Visitors are welcome.