10 file for 3 seats on county board; only 1 of 4 school board incumbents file

Published 2:53 pm Tuesday, December 19, 2023

Talk about choices – Davie Republicans will have plenty in the local races when they go to the polls to pick candidates in March for the November general election.

Ten candidates – including the three incumbents – have filed for nomination for a seat on the Davie County Board of Commissioners.

Republican incumbents are Mark Jones of Mocksville, Terry Renegar of Bermuda Run and Richard Poindexter. The GOP challengers are Mike Butero of Mocksville, Dustin Smith of Advance, Craig Myers of Mocksville, Charles O. Williams of Mocksville, Bill Vaughn of Mocksville and Douglas Rivers of Mocksville. Justin Vocke filed as a Libertarian candidate.

There will also be plenty of choices for four seats on the Davie County Board of Education, with only one incumbent, W.G. “Dub” Potts filing for re-election. He is being challenged by Jeff Jones of Advance, Stephanie Hurst of Mocksville, Ray Wright of Advance, Michael Hunter of Mocksville and Jeff Plott of Mocksville.

Wendy Horne, Cammie Webb and Paul Drechsler did not file for reelection.

Kelly Funderburk of Mocksville is running unopposed to retain the Davie Register of Deeds job.

N.C. House Rep. Julia Howard of Mocksville is running unopposed for the District 77 seat in the Republican primary; and will likely be challenged in November by the only Democrat candidate, Kashmir R. Sibby of Mocksville.

The same is true for the N.C. Senate District 30 seat, with Republican incumbent Steve Jarvis of Lexington the only candidate, as is Tina Royal of Thomasville on the Democrat side and Daniel Cavender of Lexington on the Libertarian side.

Republican Superior Court Judge Lori Hamilton of Mocksville is unopposed.