Gilpin out for Bermuda Run Town Board

Published 9:45 am Thursday, October 12, 2023

Dave Gilpin is out, and four candidates are left for the Nov. 7 election of two Bermuda Run Town Council members.

The Tuesday primary narrowed the field from five to four candidates.

Gilpin trailed the field with 33 votes in a low primary turnout. A total of 226 of the town’s 2,814 registered voters cast a ballot.

Rae Nelson led the primary with 134 votes, and will appear on the November ballot with Jeff Tedder (92 primary votes), Rod Guthrie (81) and Marty Wilson (77).

Mike Brannon is running unopposed for mayor.

Voters will also elected mayors and board members in Cooleemee and Mocksville.

In Cooleemee, Jeff Smith is challenging incumbent mayor Jessica Almond. For two seats on the town board, candidates are Sandra Ferrell, Jeannine A. Taylor, Sheighla Tippett and Chris Fleming.

All incumbent candidates in Mocksville are running unopposed, Mayor Will Marklin and board members Justin Draughn and Rob Taylor.