Board of elections member take the oath

Published 1:45 pm Tuesday, July 25, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

New members of the Davie County Board of Elections took the oath of office on Tuesday, July 18.

Davie Clerk of Court Jason Lawrence swore in Gary A. LeBlanc, as chair, as well as members Faye C. Carter, Robert H. Raisbeck Jr., Luther B. Potts, and Ricky A. Jefferies.   

Each of North Carolina’s 100 counties has a Board of Elections with five members who are registered voters of that county. The members are appointed by the State Board of Elections and the governor appoints the chair for each county. Members serve two-year terms.

Davie County’s elections board oversees the voting process, investigates irregularities, holds hearings on protests and ensures laws are followed.