Testa named most valuable wrestler in CPC

Published 12:31 pm Tuesday, March 21, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Davie junior Hunter Testa earned most outstanding wrestler in the upper weights, and Perry Long won coach of the year in the Central Piedmont Conference.

Davie placed eight more on the All-CPC team, including senior Lawson Hire; juniors Luke Tehandon, Brysen Godbey and Reid Nail; sophomores Ryder Strickland and Luke Miller; and freshmen Andy Davis and Elliott Gould.

Eight made all-conference from West Forsyth: Donovan Allen, Amet Faal, Ethan Livengood, Ziggy Malave, Anthony Zahn, Marcos Sanchez, Jermaine Jones, Devon Eaves, Kaleb Barney and Parker Broadus. Eight were also named from Reagan:  Preist Gwyn, Govany Kamel, Jacob Norman, Pierce Renegar, Shermon Williams, Randolph Thornhill, Quinten Jermyn and Cohen Curry.

Chris Catania and Will Brinker represented Mt. Tabor, Brett Fox made it from East Forsyth and Jaidon Craft cracked the list from Glenn.

The MOW in the lower weights was Amarr Lumpkins of Reynolds.


Junior Coleman Lawhon and sophomore Jackson Powers made all-conference from Davie boys basketball.

Mt. Tabor’s Jamarian Peterkin and David Peral; East Forsyth’s Will Gray and Matt Joines; West Forsyth’s AJ Baskerville and Jacari Brim; Reagan’s Jalill Rogers and Cooper Jackson; Parkland’s Bryce Jackson and Joshua Moore; Glenn’s Jamil Jeter; and Reynolds’ Sethan Redd made the team.

The player of the year was Tabor’s Shamarius Peterkin, and the coach of the year was Tabor’s Andy Muse.


Senior Somer Johnson and junior Kenadi Gentry made All-CPC from Davie girls basketball.

The team included Raniyah Hocutt, Abigail Rice and Destiny Thompson from Reynolds; Christiana Young, Justace Williams and Taleeya Reed from Parkland; Emma Pendleton and Grace Galyon from Reagan; Alyssa Jessup and Jordan Fisher from Glenn; Tovia Rooks from East Forsyth; Jeanna Baskerville from West Forsyth; and Ava Hairston from Tabor.

The player of the year was East’s La’Niya Simes. The coach of the year was Kendrick Leak of Parkland.