Davie leader, Boy Scout bring home top district awards

Published 1:20 pm Wednesday, February 8, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Uwharrie District of the Boy Scouts of America held the Annual Recognition Banquet on Jan. 28, in Lexington.

The district is composed of Davidson, Davie, and Randolph counties. This banquet is held annually to honor adults and youth involved in Scouting.

The Robert Ashley McGlohon Memorial Award has been given annually since 1945 to the outstanding Boy Scout in the Uwharrie District. The McGlohon Award is named in honor of Robert McGlohon. McGlohon, an Asheboro resident, was a U.S. Army Air Force pilot when he died in action on Sept. 8, 1944.

The 2022 award recipient is Robert McGrew of Troop 575 of Mocksville.

Robert has been a member of the scouting program for more than eight years and is working towards his Eagle Scout award. He is a Vigil member of the Order of the Arrow and has worked on summer camp staff for the at Cherokee Scout Reservation. Robert is a student at Davie High School where he is on the A/B Honor Roll and a member of the Marching, Orchestra, and Jazz Bands.

The Cleveland Thayer Award has been given each year since 1973 to a Unit Leader in the Uwharrie District who provides outstanding service to the Scout program, church, and civic organizations. The 2022 recipient is Jennifer Aguiar of Troop 555 of Mocksville.

Aguiar’s experience in Scouting includes being a Cub Scout and Boy Scout leader; as well as starting two new units. Jennifer is a member of the Old North State Council Special Needs Committee. Jennifer was also awarded the Den Leader Award and the Scouter’s Training Award.

Also recognized for accomplishments to Scouting were David Koehler and Lisa Prillaman, both of Pack 574.