Voters go to the polls on Tuesday

Published 7:42 am Thursday, November 3, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By Mike Barnhardt

Enterprise Record

Davie County voters will elect two county commissioners, three board of education members, a clerk of court and a sheriff on Tuesday, but the ballot choices are limited to Republican candidates only.

There are no opposing candidates for Benita Finney and Brent Shoaf for county commissioner, Joe Caudle, Marie Helms and Con Shelton for the board of education, Jason Lawrence for clerk of court, and J.D. Hartman for sheriff.

One of the more contentious races involving Davie County is the U.S. Senate race, where incumbent Republican Congressman Ted Budd of Advance is facing Democrat Cheri Beasley.

Only one of the district court judge races is contested, with Democrat Rosalind Baker going against Republican David S. Doherty. Republicans Mary F. Covington, Jon Myers, Carlton Terry, Jon Welborn and Carlos E. Jane` are unopposed.

Justin Miller and Arnold Weatherman seek the only two non-partisan spots for Davie Soil and Water District Supervisor.

Davie precincts will be open from 6:30 a.m.-7:30 p.m. Tuesday for voters to cast ballots.

Those who wish to cast their ballots early may do so on Thursday and Friday from 8 a.m.-7:30 p.m., or Saturday from 8 a.m.-3 p.m., at: the board of elections office on Poplar Street in Mocksville; at the Jerusalem Volunteer Fire Department on NC 801 just off US 601 South, Mocksville; and at Bermuda Run Town Hall on Kinderton Blvd. off US 158.

Davie Elections Director Melissa Parker said that as of Tuesday morning, 5,271 voters had cast ballots early, with another 267 returning mail-in ballots.

There are 32,000 registered voters in Davie County, 16,321 Republican, 10,667 Unaffiliated, and 4,846 Democrat.