Sheffield-Calahaln: Locals win awards at Mt. Airy Fiddlers Convention

Published 9:32 am Thursday, June 16, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By Brenda Bailey



Birthday wishes to: Justin Dyson on June 17; Ella Jane Jordan on June 19; Eddie McDaniel on June 21 and Andy Drye on July 22.  If you would like a birthday or anniversary listed, please let me know.

On Sunday, June 5, a memorial service was held at the Sheffield-Calahaln VFD honoring those dedicated members that have passed away. The following members were honored this year by Chief Gary Allen:  Carl Dyson, Jim Reilly and Ted Doby. Other members who have passed were honored with the number of years they served the department as roses were given to their family members.  Steve Wooten gave the opening remarks during the service, and Benita Finney sang Amazing Grace as the markers were uncovered in the memorial garden.  We thank all our firefighters that are still serving our community and those neighboring communities.  God bless each of you.

Ijames Baptist honored graduates Sunday. We congratulate you and wish you the best in your endeavors. Thanks to Wendi White for sharing the photo.

Gaining Ground performed Friday at the West Rowan Grill.  The Catawba Bluegrass Band is scheduled to perform this Friday.

Those from our area who won at the 2022 50th Annual Mount Airy Fiddlers Convention: Gaining Ground third in the Adult Bluegrass Band; Tommy Chandler third in Adult Guitar; Robert Ellis first and Jimmy Ball fifth in Adult Dobro; Hersie McMillan third Adult Bluegrass Banjo; and Southbound 77 Upcoming Youth Band.

Hotdog Saturday at New Union is scheduled for June 25.

Prayer requests continue for Bryan Swain, Jean Reavis, Johnny Naylor, Pat Moore, Hazel Smoot, Tim Keller, Junior Dunn, Betty Dameron, Tammy Keller, Naomi Wooten, Charles England, Greta England, Lincoln Dyson, Bob Ellis, Chester Reeves, Hazel Frye, Yvonne Ijames, Bonnie Gunter, Ed Livengood,  Milton Tutterow, Nancy Peacock, Geraldine Lambert, Betty Beck, Sue Gobble, Caren Morgan, Helen Bulla, Rowan Fay, Paul Beck, Juanita Keaton, Jerry McDaniel, Yvonne Richardson, Emily Brown and Suzonne Stratton.  Our sincere condolences to the Ann Latham Stiller Seats family, the Jane Tutterow family, and the Emma Reeves Tutterow family.

Please submit all news to me at, message me on Facebook or call me at 336-837-8122 no later than noon on Thursdays