Hartman to remain sheriff; Lawrence new clerk; Shoaf, Helms lead respective tickets

Published 10:09 am Thursday, May 19, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Incumbent Sheriff J.D. Hartman is set to serve at least another four years as sheriff of Davie County, as he convincingly won the Republican primary on Tuesday with 4,667 votes, according to unofficial results released by the Davie County Board of Elections.

Challenger Jimmy Staley received 2,987 votes, and Mark Howell received 300 votes.

As in other county races, no Democrats filed, meaning the primary winners will likely be elected in November.

Jason Lawrence easily won the job as Davie County Clerk of Court, as he received 2,650 votes, followed by Andrew Brock with 2,249 and Sonya Spry with 2,072 and Dan Robertson with 790.

Marie Helms led the ticket for three seats on the Davie Board of Education with 5,168 votes , and will likely be joined on the board by Joe Caudle with 4,562 votes and Con Shelton with 3,720. Timothy Brinkley earned 3,467 votes and Jay Weaver received 3,460.

Brent Shoaf led the ticket for two seats on the Davie Board of Commissioners, receiving 5,401 votes, and will be joined on the board by incumbent Benita Finney, who received 3,736 votes. James Blakley was third with 3,639 votes, followed by Charles Odell Williams with 1,049 and Duane Vestal with 439.

In the race for the Davie seat on the District Court, Jon Welborn easily won in Davie and Davidson counties, with 13,792 total votes compared to 6,504 for runner-up Eric Farr. Challenger Cinty Ellis received 3,890 votes.