GOP Only: No Democrats file for local office

Published 9:31 am Thursday, March 10, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

If you want to vote for a Democratic candidate in a local Davie County election, you’re out of luck.

There aren’t any.

All candidates for Davie County Commissioner, Davie County Board of Education, Davie County Sheriff, Davie County Clerk of Court, and a district court judge from Davie County – are Republicans.


(Elect one)

Mark Stephen Howell

Jerry Don Hartman Jr.

Larry James Staley Jr.

Davie County

Board of Education

(Elect three)

Joseph Conway Shelton

Marie Lynn Helms

Timothy Lee Brinkley

James Paul Weaver Jr.

Joe David Caudle

Davie Clerk

of Superior Court

(Elect one)

Sonya Diane Spry

Jason Eric Lawrence

Andrew Coley Brock

Daniel Gray Robertson

Davie County Board

of Commissioners

(Elect two)

Stephen Duane Vestal

Benita Brandon Finney

Medford Brent Shoaf

James Victor Blakley

Charles Odell Williams

NC District Court Judge

Davie County Seat

(Elect one)

Cynthia Gay Ellis

Eric Joseph Farr

Jon William Welborn

Julia Howard of Mocksville was the only candidate to file for the NC House District 77 seat, which includes Davie and Yadkin counties and a portion of western Rowan County.

There are three candidates for a new N.C Senate District 30 that includes Davie and Davidson counties: Republicans Steven Henry Jarvis of Lexington and Johnny Edward Gallimore of Thomasville, and Democrat Monique D. Johnson of Thomasville.

The primary election day is May 17.