Wrestlers tune up for West Forsyth

Published 9:50 am Thursday, January 13, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By Brian Pitts
Enterprise Record

Now that Davie’s wrestling team is finally back to full strength, it is clicking like everyone figured it would all season.
The War Eagles ripped through Mt. Tabor and Reynolds in the first two Central Piedmont Conference matches in a tri-meet at Tabor on Jan. 6. Two days later, they finished second in a big tournament at Mooresville.
Getting eight pins and five forfeits, Davie beat Tabor 78-3. Luke Tehandon (113), Ramiro Gutierrez (145), Collin Bailey (152), Isaac Webb (160), Jack Jarvis (170), Hunter Testa (182), Charlie Frye (195) and Brysen Godbey (220) stuck their opponents.
Later in the evening, the War Eagles blanked Reynolds 79-0. Tehandon, Sam Collins (138), Gutierrez, Bailey, Webb, Frye, Godbey and Ryder Strickland (heavyweight) got pins; Lane Hill (132) got a tech fall; and Max McKnight (126) and Hunter Potts (106) took major decisions.
The other three wins were forfeits as Davie (17-8 overall) extended its winning streak to 10. It has a nine-match winning streak in the CPC.
By placing 10 of their 12 wrestlers in the top four, the War Eagles finished second out of 12 teams in the Gavin Sharpe Memorial tournament at Mooresville on Jan. 8.
The team scoring: Mooresville 201, Davie 191, West Rowan 153, Piedmont 125.5, East Gaston 111, Maiden 96, West Cabarrus 88.5, Cannon School 84.5, TC Roberson 77.5, Pinecrest 57.5, Berry Academy 50 and Mitchell 49.
Testa and Godbey are huge talents as sophomores. You knew that already, but you were reminded on Saturday. Testa blew through the 182-pound field like a tornado. In the semifinals, he was undaunted by a 5-2 deficit going into the third period and stormed back for a pin. In fact, he pinned all three opponents on the day.
“He doesn’t quit,” coach Perry Long said. “In the semifinals, he got a takedown and back points and went up 6-5. He pinned him late in the third. It was a crazy match. He’s not going to quit. You’re going to have to wrestle him until there are zeroes on the clock.”
Godbey rose to first at 220. A pin and a decision extended his winning streak to 14.
“He took his lumps last year and now Godbey knows he can win,” Long said. “He’s learning how to win in tight matches.”
Tehandon, Lawson Hire (120), Bailey and Jarvis all went 2-1 to finish second. Hill (3-1 record), Collins (4-2) and Gutierrez (4-1) won consolation finals for third place. And Frye went 2-2 to finish fourth.
Davie only scored 10 fewer points than Mooresville even though it had voids at 106 and 160.
• Davie has 13 wrestlers with winning records on the season, led by Hill (30-3), Bailey (29-2), Godbey (27-3) and Jarvis (25-2). The others are Webb (19-5), Hire (17-8), Testa (16-2), Collins (13-7), Vance Visser (12-9), Frye (9-4), Gutierrez (6-1), Tehandon (6-2) and Jared Alexander (5-2).
• Davie has a huge match at home on Jan. 13. Davie and unbeaten West Forsyth will meet at 5:30 p.m. The winner will likely go on to win the CPC championship.
The Titans have been crushing people. Their wins: 75-6 over East Davidson, 56-24 over Ledford, 62-9 over Central Davidson, 45-31 over Morehead, 72-10 over Wheatmore, 66-9 over Cuthbertson, 77-6 over Union Academy, 52-24 over Piedmont, 75-6 over East Forsyth and 84-0 over Parkland.
Their main guys are junior Damian Cisneros (20-5 at 132), junior Ziggy Malave (18-3 at 182), senior Landon Hairston (15-4 at 152) and senior Emmanuel Jarquin (10-0 at 113).
“They’re undefeated and we’re not,” Long said. “We’re the underdog and I like being the underdog.”
• Hill reached a milestone at Tabor with his 100th win. He became the fourth current War Eagle to reach the mark. The program’s 100-win club includes the following:
Michael Waters 203-21, Aaron Hollifield 182-30, Russell Hilton 181-32, Hunter Smith 179-46, Alex Gobble 159-36, Ryan Smith 158-43, Zack Vernon 157-34, Patrick Lowery 150-16, Lake Billings 148-72, Anthony Olmedo 143-32, Dusty Johnson 141-45, Matt Cusack 139-18, Parker Correll 139-37, Jonathan Hupp 136-35, Chris Ange 135-21, Josh Barnes 135-44, Josh Stanley 133-36, Timmy Allen 133-25, Kyle McCune 133-55, Collin Bailey 132-29, Jesus Olmedo 129-19, Adam Connor 126-23, Shane Carter 126-59, Brad Pack 125-29, Jack Jarvis 124-28, Adam Bailey 123-27, Isaiah Olmedo 121-35, Isaiah Whitley 121-68, Isaac Webb 120-37, Aaron Peoples 118-46, Josh Shore 117-48, Trevor Albarron 116-30, Andrew Scott 115-55, Adam Szewczyk 111-33, Jack Robertson 111-47, Trevon Faulkner 110-64, Rusty O’Connor 109-51, Matt Garretson 108-26, Jesse Carter 108-50, Garrett Parks 107-22, Neil Cornatzer 106-4, Adam McIlwain 106-33, Ethan Curtis 106-40, Zac Morton 106-52, Lake Billings 106-55, Jeremiah Raby 104-31, Lane Hill 103-25, Alex Costner 102-23, Scotty Spry 101-3, Isaac Webb 101-32.