Humanitarian, business of the year nominations open

Published 9:09 am Thursday, November 18, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By Jeanna Baxter White
Word Master Media Group

The Davie County Chamber of Commerce is seeking nominations for the 2021 E.C. Tatum Humanitarian Award and the 2021 Business of the Year Award which will be presented at the State of Davie & Chamber Annual Meeting to be held in early Spring 2022 at WinMock at Kinderton.
Do you know an unsung hero, someone who goes above and beyond to make our community a better place to live? Nominate them now for the 2021 E.C Tatum Humanitarian Award.
This award is named in honor of E.C. Tatum, “A Man of Vision” who personified “commitment to your community” for more than 35 years. Each year the chamber seeks nominations of candidates who embody the essence of Mr. Tatum through their volunteer and philanthropic efforts for the betterment of the Davie County community.
During his life of selfless service, E.C. Tatum, 1926-1995, ran a tree farm, taught agriculture in the school system, served on the Chamber of Commerce and Public Library boards, and was a member of the Cooleemee Baptist Church. Tatum chaired the Davie Futures Strategic Planning task force in 1987-1988. Upon his passing, the Davie County Chamber of Commerce established the E. C. Tatum Humanitarian Award in his honor.
Past recipients include:
1995 Terry Bralley
1996 James W. Wall
1997 J. Charles Dunn
1998 Calvin Ijames
1999 Helen C. Gantt
2000 Clyde Hendricks
2001 Perce Musselman
2002 John Barber
2003 Sarah Wood
2004 Dr. Francis W. Slate
2005 Carl Boon
2006 Belle D. Boger
2007 Brook & George Martin
2008 G. Allen Mebane, IV
2009 Marie Collins
2010 Helen Page Crenshaw
2011 Lillie Mabe
2012 Lynn Rumley
2013 Charles Markland
2014 Darrin L. Hartness
2015 Jane McAllister
2016 J. Russell Suggs, Jr.
2017 Michael T. Gunning
2018 Julius Suiter
2019 Lee Rollins
2020 Jane Simpson
Business of the Year
Local businesses are the lifeblood of a community. Show support for a favorite business by nominating it for the 2021 Business of the Year Award.
Nominees must:
• be a chamber member in good standing for at least a year;
• be a for-profit business;
• work for the betterment of Davie County through company or employee support and participation in the chamber and other civic activities;
• demonstrate the highest business standards & ethics;
• possesses qualities to which other businesses aspire; and
• have experienced a period of business successes, financial or through growth, during the past year.
Past recipients include:
1995 Thomson Crown Wood, Ketchie Creek Bakery
1996 Ingersoll-Rand, Gantt Personnel, Inc.
1997 Walmart, Mocksville Builders Supply
1998 Vulcan Materials Company, Foster-Rauch Drug
1999 Le Bleu Corp.
2000 Christy Trucking Company, Inc.
2001 VF Jeanswear
2002 CCB – Central Carolina Bank
2003 Eaton Funeral Service
2004 Webb Heating & Air Conditioning
2005 Venezia Italian Family Restaurant
2006 Carolina Drilling, Inc.
2007 Trailers of the East Coast
2008 BB&T – Branch Banking & Trust
2009 Anderson Aggregates, LLC
2010 Ingersoll Rand, RayLen Vineyards & Winery
2011 Avgol Nonwovens, Davie Farm Service/Southern States
2012 WinMock at Kinderton, Blakley Landscape Service
2013 Carolina Center for Eye Care
2014 Twin City Soccer Assoc., Small Business of the Year: Subway of Mocksville
2015 Johnson Insurance Services, Inc.
2016 Davie Construction Co.
2017 Graham Funeral Home
2018 The Hollingsworth Companies, DavieLiFE Magazine
2019 Fuller Architecture
2020 DEX Heavy Duty Parts, Small Business of the Year: Computer Guys of CNS
Nominations for both awards will be reviewed by the Davie Chamber Board of Directors which will select the recipient.
The deadline for nominations is Monday, Nov. 30. Find the nomination forms on the chamber website at Completed forms may be faxed to 336.751.5697, emailed to, or mailed to 135 S. Salisbury St., Mocksville. For more information, call (336) 751-3304.