Jones, Renegar, Poindexter, Funderburk win; alcohol sales OKd

Published 10:35 pm Tuesday, March 3, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Davie County voters made clear decisions in the March 3 primary, nominating three Republican county commissioners, a register of deeds, and all voters chose to allow alcohol sales in the county.

Since only Republicans were running, the race for register of deeds and the three seats on the county commission are likely decided with the primary vote.

Mark Jones led the ballot for county commissioner with 5,039 votes, followed by fellow incumbents Terry Renegar with 3,958 votes and Richard Poindexter with 3,593 votes. Challengers Steve Corriher tallied 2,317 votes, Aaron O’Neal received 1,513 votes, Charles O. Williams 1,228 votes, Duane Vestal 977 votes and Justin Vocke 971 votes.

Kelly Cozart Funderburk won the Republican nomination for register of deeds with 3,393 votes, followed by Ray Tutterow with 1,951 votes and Brad Blackwelder with 1,785 votes.

All votes on whether to allow alcohol sales in the county, including on and off premises, were approved by voters of all parties.