ECA holds awards ceremony

Published 10:15 am Thursday, May 30, 2019

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Davie County Extension and Community Association (ECA) held its annual awards ceremony on May 16 at the N.C Cooperative Extension, Davie County Center, in Mocksville.

The annual Achievement Night program also includes a guest speaker, and the ECA awards their scholarship for local youth.

Martha Isenberg, an independent tea consultant for Tealightful, explained the types of teas, preparation, history and health benefits associated with drinking tea. Attendees participated in a tea-tasting sampling of strawberry papaya green tea, vanilla rum toddy black tea and heart healthy rooibos herbal infusion.

After refreshments, LaTeah Dunn announced the two scholarship recipients, who each received $750 to further their education after high school.  Abbey White and Hannah Williams from Davie High School were present with their families to accept the awards.

The ECA awards program then recognized winners for the cultural arts competition, which included Linda Owings, Jeanne Gilbreath, LaTeah Dunn and Coleen Brown.

Members with perfect attendance were commended, which were Margaret Shew, Darlene Fuller, Sharrie Campbell and Sara Wallace of Kappa Club.

Finally, club member of the year was awarded for each club honoring members for extraordinary efforts.  ECA club members of the year were: Brenda Rutherford, Center Club; Jeanne Gilbreath, Clarksville Club; Darlene Fuller, Kappa Club; and Irene Studevent, Redland Club.

Jeanne Gilbreath of Clarksville Club received overall county club member of the year.

The mission of the Extension and Community Association is to strengthen families through leadership development, volunteer work and educational programs provided through research from N.C. State University and N.C. A&T State University. There are four ECA clubs in Davie County, and new members are welcome to join at any time.

For more information, contact Colleen Church, county Extension director at 336.753.6100, or Jeanne Gilbreath, Davie County ECA president at 336.998.6149.