School system recognizes ‘Stars’

Published 10:42 am Thursday, March 7, 2019

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Each year, the Stars of the Year for Davie County Schools are announced at the Back to School Convocation in August.

Banners are hung in their honor at their place of work, and then the “stars” shine on a special night of their own.

This year, the Davie County High School Madrigals entertained the group with a performance. After a meal, the stars were awarded a certificate of appreciation for all they do to make a positive difference each day for students and staff of Davie schools. LifeTouch helped celebrate the stars.

• Bus Driver of the Year: Sheila Taylor, Cooleemee Elementary School.

• Transportation Professional of the Year: Angie Bowles, transportation.

• Custodial Team of the Year: William R. Davie Elementary School – Bradley Sharpe, Gary Jones, Jessica Searcy.

• Maintenance Person of the Year: Lindsay Baltes, maintenance.

• Child Nutrition Manager of the Year: Will Turrentine, South Davie Middle.

• Child Nutrition Person of the Year: Sharon Holcomb, Cooleemee Elementary.

• Student Services Person of the Year: Aubrey Draughn, Central Davie Education Center.

• EC Related Service Person of the Year: Aimee Farr, Central Davie Education Center.

• EC Teacher of the Year: Julie Barnes, William Ellis Middle.

• Office Professional of the Year: Pamela Smith, central office.

• Administrator of the Year: Erin Foil, Central Davie Education Center.

• Assistant Principal of the Year: Raymonda Shelton, Shady Grove Elementary.

• Teacher Assistant of the Year: Jane Seamon, Cooleemee Elementary.

• Principal of the Year: Jennifer Swofford, Mocksville Elementary.

• Teacher of the Year: Dawn Lowery, North Davie Middle.