Nominations open for humanitarian award

Published 10:29 am Friday, November 23, 2018

Do you know someone who goes above and beyond to make our community a better place to live?

Nominate them for the 2018 E.C Tatum Humanitarian Award which will be presented at the Davie County Chamber of Commerce’s Annual Awards Gala on Jan. 17 at WinMock at Kinderton.  Nomination forms are available through the Davie Chamber by visiting or by calling 336-751-3304.

This sward is named in honor of E.C. Tatum, “a man of  vision,” who personified the commitment to community in Davie County for more than 35 years. Each year the chamber seeks nominations of candidates who embody the essence of Mr. Tatum through their volunteer and philanthropic efforts for the betterment of the community.

“We all know a special person who exemplifies amazing character and gives back to their community for the greater good; someone behind the scenes who is simply there to lend a helping hand because of their generous spirit. We would like the community to consider nominating this exceptional individual so that they might receive this high honor,” said Caroline Moser, president of the chamber.

During his life of selfless service, E.C. Tatum, 1926-1995, ran a tree farm, taught agriculture in the school system, served on the chamber and public library boards, and was a member of the Cooleemee Baptist Church. Tatum chaired the Davie Futures strategic planning task force in 1987-1988. Upon his passing, the chamber established the E. C. Tatum Humanitarian Award in his honor.

Past recipients:

1995 Terry Bralley

1996 James W. Wall

1997 J. Charles Dunn

1998 Calvin Ijames

1999 Helen C. Gantt

2000 Clyde Hendricks

2001 Perce Musselman

2002 John Barber

2003 Sarah Wood

2004 Dr. Francis W. Slate

2005 Carl Boon

2006 Belle D. Boger

2007 Brook & George Martin

2008 G. Allen Mebane, IV

2009 Marie Collins

2010 Helen Page Crenshaw

2011 Lillie Mabe

2012 Lynn Rumley

2013 Charles Markland

2014 Darrin L. Hartness

015 Jane McAllister

2016 J. Russell Suggs, Jr.

2017 Michael T. Gunning

Nominations will be reviewed by the chamber board of directors and they will select the recipient.

The deadline for nominations is Friday, Dec. 7. Nomination forms may be faxed to  336.751.5697, emailed to, or mailed to 135 S. Salisbury St., Mocksville. For nomination forms, or for more information, call the chamber at 336-751-3304.