Sierra Fergusson CPC softball player of the year

Published 10:50 am Thursday, June 7, 2018

Senior Sierra Ferguson hit .435 with eight doubles, five home runs and 39 RBIs – leading Davie softball in each category – and earned player of the year in the Central Piedmont Conference.

Seniors Bridgett Tierney and Anna Devereaux, junior Sydney Wyatt and sophomore Shea Woody were named to the all-conference team from Davie softball.


Davie girls lacrosse placed two players on the all-CPC team after an inaugural 8-5 season as an official varsity sport.

Junior Sierra Foster of Mocksville, daughter of Marjorie and Allen Foster, received all-conference honors. Foster led the CPC with average 6.0 points per game and finished second in conference in both goals and assists per game.

Senior Jill Staley of Advance, daughter of April Staley, also received all-conference honors. Staley was a senior leader and inspiration on the field, finishing in the top 17 in points, goals and assists per game. Foster and Staley served as team captains and played midfielder/attacker for all three years since the club’s inception.

Davie placed five offensive players in the top 20 in the conference in averages. Foster (first in points); sophomores Paige Riordan (ninth in points) and Jessie Crosby (10th in points); Staley (15th in assists); and junior Caitlyn Sagraves (17th in assists).

Davie coach Laura Kiricoples, who was assisted by Marjorie Foster, shared coach of the year with Reagan’s Lisa Smith.


Senior Jessica Navarro and junior Jaci Grachen were named all-conference in soccer. Senior Cody Hendrix and juniors Carson Whisenhunt and Hite Merrifield were named in baseball.


The following are Davie’s award winners for the 2017-18 school year.

Spurgeon Goss – female: Aubrey Privat; male: Nick Gillis.

Achievement Award – female: Anna Devereaux; male: Preston Robertson.

Jerry & Judy Swicegood Citizenship Award (in memory of Josh rominger) – female: Grace Nixon; male: Broc Barnette.

Bill Peeler Most Dedicated Award – female: Bridgett Tierney; male: Hunter Strickland.

Marine Achievement Award – female: Liz Crenshaw; male: Guy Brunelli.

Jack Ward Athlete of the Year – female: co-winners Tyra Galloway and Sierra Ferguson; male: Cody Hendrix.