Southern, Williams, Vaughn-Jones win in Mocksville; Cover, Reavis in Cooleemee

Published 9:17 pm Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Mocksville will have two new town council members as a result of Tuesday’s election.

Political newcomer Eric Southern led the ticket for three seats with 427 votes, followed by Brian Williams with 418 votes, and incumbent Amy Vaughan-Jones with 292 votes. Justin Draughn, Johnny Frye, and Lash Gaither Sanford followed with 252, 142, and 108 votes, respectively.

Don Cover and Andy Reavis won the race for two seats in Cooleemee, earning   94 votes and 84 votes respectively. Chris Fleming and Doug Arledge received 21 and votes and 16 votes, respectively. Michael White earned 27 votes as a write-in candidate.

In the uncontested race for three Bermuda Run seats, Rick Cross led balloting with 36 votes, followed byh Mike Ernst with 34 votes and Chris Fowler with 32 votes.