Students win essay, speech contests

Published 9:37 am Thursday, February 16, 2017

The Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 8719 of Advance has announced winners of the Patriot’s Pen and Voice of Democracy essay competitions.

Each year the VFW holds the Patriot’s Pen essay and Voice of Democracy essay/audio competition. Students can compete at post, district, state and national levels to win savings bonds and scholarships. The state winner also receives a paid trip for two to Washington, D.C. to be honored at the VFW and Auxiliary Conference.

Students from grades 6-8 compete in the Patriot’s Pen essay contest by writing a 300-400 word essay. This year’s theme was “The America I Believe In.”

High school students from grades 9-12 compete in the Voice of Democracy by writing and then recording a 3-5 minute audio/essay expressing their views of this year’s patriotic theme, “My  Responsibility To America.”

On Saturday, Jan. 28, VFW Post 8719 presented awards and prize money to the students who were this year’s winners at post level at the annual awards banquet.

Commander Anthony “Tony” Anderson presented the winners with certificates, pins, and prize money as follows:

First, Lawson Hire, Ellis Middle, $100; second, Thompson Kilgore, Ellis Middle, $75; third, Eliza Smith, North Davie Middle, $50; fourth, Bailey M. Snow, Ellis Middle, $25; fifth, Carter A. Bracken, Ellis Middle, $25; and sixth, Davis D. Byers, South Davie Middle, $25.   

All essays advanced to district level for judging. Davis Byers was the third place district winner and will receive $50 and a district award.

Anderson also presented the winners of the Voice of Democracy Essay/Audio contest with certificates, pins, and prize money as follows:

First, Jennifer C. Johnson, Davie County Early College, $100; second, Sarah M. Carter, Davie County Early College, $75; third, Amber E. Bostic, Davie County Early College, $50; fourth, Patricia L. Nichols, Davie High, $25.

Jennifer Johnson will receive a $1,000 cash scholarship from the Joe H. King Memorial Scholarship Fund upon her high school graduation.  Her and Sarah’s Voice of Democracy essay/audio also advanced to district level for judging.

“We would like to say thank you to all of the teachers and students who participated in this year’s competitions. We would like to congratulate all of the winners on a job well done,” Anderson said.

“We would also like to recognize all of our judges this year and say a special thank you to Mrs. Chris Smith, Commander Anthony Anderson, Mr. Ron Cox, Mr. Tom O’Brien and Mr. D.J. Smith for being our judges at post level.”