Carolina Clays brings home awards

Published 9:41 am Thursday, August 11, 2016

Carolina Clays Scholastic Clay Target team swept all the categories at the 2016 NC State ATA Trap Shooting Championship in Bostic at the NC State Trap Homegrounds.

With more than 13 trap fields, the historical trap complex played host to more than 300 shooters from North Carolina and surrounding states.

Carolina Clays also won the NC State Youth Trap Team Championship award in addition to the individual categories and events.

Wyatt Armsworthy dominated the Sub Jr. event while teammates Zeb Pilcher and Will Anderson scored their first 25 straight set in the 200 target competition.

Champion Sub-Jr. Lady Lydia Pilcher and Champion Jr. Lady Trap Shooter Brooke Vogler took the field early to set the pace for other participants.

Rising Senior Jason Holley crushed his way to the NC State Doubles JR. title followed by teammate Ross Cardwell, who took the crown as NC State Singles Jr. Champion.  Ben Campbell wraps up the 2016 Championship winning Jr. Gold Doubles Champion and Singles, Handicap Champion.

“Dedicated parents and young clay target shooters – what a great day for the entire Carolina Clays Team, winning every event including the 2016 NC State Youth Trap Team Championship,” said Head Coach Jeff Allen. “This solidifies Carolina Clays scholarship opportunities and paves the way for the 2016 Grand American World Championship. Hard work pays off.”

This year the Adult/Jr Paired competition was a hit. Carolina Clays members Jonathan and Lydia Pilcher, tied with Jeff and Wyatt Armsworthy with a combined scores of 327.

Following the AIM championship Adult/Jr teams proceeded to field 12 for the final the shoot off. A full round with parents and junior shooters on the trap line.

“Feeling the excitement in the air, everyone started and finished the 25 bird shootoff strong,” Allen said.  Lydia and Wyatt put the high scores up followed by the adults (whom were not showing to be under any pressure). At the end of the round Jeff and Wyatt Armsworthy edged out the competition to take home the trophy.