Womans Club honors members; presents awards

Published 9:05 am Thursday, May 26, 2016

Recognition of residents and making contributions to the community was featured at the May meeting of the Mocksville Womans Club at Bermuda Run Country Club.

Awards were given to scholarship winners, members of the business community, and individual club members. The club also made a donation.

One new member was added, and officers were elected.

Logan Prysiazniuk earned the Mocksville Womans Club Scholarship. Kaitlin Fletcher earned the Sallie Southall Cotton Scholarship and Molly Hartness was awarded the Phyllis Potter Scholarship. They thanked club members and shared information about their major and college they will attend.

Tim Stewart, Mocksville WalMart manager, was the recipient of the Citizen of the Year award for his continuing support of the club’s activities and events.

Club Woman of the Year was presented to Rebecca Young for her contributions to the arts and community service program.

The Juanita Bryant Citizenship award was presented to outgoing president, Jean Saunders.

A $7,500 check for a flagpole at the new Davie County High School was presented to Dr. Darrin Hartness, superintendent of Davie County Schools.

The 2016-2018 executive board was installed by Linda Sechrist, past presidnt and district second vice president: Marlene Shamel, president; Christy Schafer, first vice president; Shirley Cagle, second vice president; Pat Patterson, secretary; Alice Sineath, treasurer; and Jean Saunders, immediate past president.

Shamel presented her theme of “Joy, Laughter and Compassion,” and recognized Gail Kelly as being her mentor.

New member, Lorene Markland, was installed and received her pin, yearbook and a gift.

The Little Free Library was officially opened in Rich Park, sponsored and built by the club with town crews providing a sidewalk to the library across from Mocksville Elementary.