Sheffield-Calahaln fire department celebrates 40th year

Published 9:42 am Thursday, May 19, 2016

Forty years ago a group of folks got together to talk about how they could save their homes and land if and when a fire would occur.

After numerous meetings and discussions, a small group decided a volunteer fire department was needed in Sheffield. The charter was signed on March 8, 1976. A building was built at 174 Turkeyfoot Road, and it is now the location of the Sheffield-Calahaln Community Center.

The first SCVFD Chief was Pete Smith. The current chief, David Beck, joined the department in 1977 and has been chief since 1998.

In 1987, the first fire truck was moved into the new location at 435 Dyson Road.  Starting in 1976 with one truck, and then increasing to three trucks at the first location, the department now has a total of seven trucks.

Chief David Beck stated the department had a 5-star rating which helped lower homeowner’s insurance rates. He praised the back-up received by Center, William R. Davie, County Line, Lone Hickory and Harmony volunteer fire departments, as well as others in the area.

He also talked about several other agencies that are involved with the department such as the Davie County Sheriff’s office,  EMS, county commissioners, to name a few. The department appreciates all the assistance it receives from the various agencies, he said.

When the department was started, most of calls were strictly fire calls. Now in addition to fires, they assist with directing traffic, cutting of downed trees, medical and more.

The officers for 2016 are: David Beck, chief; Gary Allen, assistant chief; Andy Drye, captain; Noah Drye, first lieutenant; Andy Lawson, second lieutenant; and Clayton Campbell, safety.  The department has 37 men and women on the roster.  Join them any Monday evening at 7 at the weekly meetings.

Andy Drye with EMS and a member of the SCVFD talked about his role of being in charge of first responder calls. The first EMT in the department was Jim Reilly, and the next was David Beck.  He stated that half of the calls received by the department are medical calls.

A softball tournament was held in 2001 to purchase an AED in memory of Assistant Chief Frankie Allen. That was the first and now the department has nine.

Michaelene Lineberry, president of the auxiliary, shared that their purpose is to support the firefighters and see them succeed in their mission. The auxiliary helps with the barbecue fundraisers and have fundraisers on their own to make monies for the department.  he auxiliary welcomes new members. Meetings are held the second Monday of each month at 7 p.m.

A memorial table was on display with a floral arrangement consisting of 15 white roses and red carnations.  Teresa Campbell read the names of the 15 deceased members that helped get the department started: Cecil Allen, Neal Church, Frankie Allen, Janet Gaither, Jimmy Keller, Enoch Prevette, Naomi Reeves, Alton Smith, Hubert Reeves, Ray Ratledge, Albert Reavis, Raymond Shore, A. Wade Wright Jr., John Roy Smith and Jimmy Smith. Stones are placed in the memorial garden for those listed above and for Don Roda, Brandon Miller, Jerry Bailey and Mike Fowler.

Michaelene Lineberry and Brandi Drye recognized Betty Beck with a certificate of recognition and appreciation for her many years of service and dedication to the auxiliary and the fire department.

Chief Beck recognized Edward Gaither, Jim Reilly, David Allen, Jerry Keller, Carl Dyson and Paul Beck with a plaque for 40 years of service to the department.

Brandi Drye, Renee Lawson and Teresa Campbell planned the 40th anniversary celebration.

There was a bounce house for the children, face painting, tours of the fire trucks, hotdogs, funnel cakes, cotton candy, music and lots of door prizes.