Town voters go to polls Nov. 3

Published 9:35 am Thursday, October 15, 2015

Voters in the Towns of Bermuda Run, Cooleemee and Mocksville will go to the polls on Tuesday, Nov. 3 to elect a mayor and commissioners.

The registration deadline for being eligible to cast a ballot was Friday, Oct. 9.

To register and vote after the registration deadline, appear in person at the one stop absentee voting site (elections office), complete a voter registration application and provide proof of residency during one stop voting hours.

Absentee ballots by mail may be requested until Tuesday, Oct. 27. Illness or disability applications will be accepted until Monday, Nov. 2. All ballots must be returned to the elections office no later than Tuesday, Nov. 3 by 5 p.m., properly signed and witnessed or postmarked by Tuesday, Nov. 3 and received no later than Friday, Nov. 6 to be eligible for counting.

The no excuse “One Stop” voting will be available in the elections office Thursday, Oct. 22-Friday, Oct. 30, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. each day, and on Saturday, Oct. 31, 8 a.m.-1 p.m.

The Town of Bermuda Run will be electing mayor and council members  to serve until 2019.  Candidates are: Mayor:  Kenneth A.  Rethmeier and Janet W. Smith, and Council (2 seats):   John Guglielmi, and Jerry West.

The Town of Cooleemee will elect mayor and two commissioners to serve until 2019 and one commissioner to serve until 2017.  Candidates are: Mayor:   Steven Corriher and Jeannie McDaniel; Commissioner 4 year term (2 seats): Jessica Daywalt Almond, Steven Andrew Lagle, KC Smith, and Jim Szymanski; Commissioner 2 year unexpired term (1 seat):  Daphne Beck, Judy Phillips, Andy Reavis, and Michael White.

The Town of Mocksville will elect a mayor and two commissioners to serve until 2019. Candidates are:  Mayor:  Mike DeVault, William Marklin and Glen Stanley; commissioners (2 seats):  Kevin S. Marion, Robert S. Taylor and Brent S. Ward

Questions may be directed to the Board of Elections office at 753-6072, Monday-Friday, 8 a.m.-5 p.m.