Scholarship ‘Oscars’ awarded

Published 9:41 am Thursday, May 21, 2015

The scholarship Oscar goes to…

The stars shone brightly at the Davie Community Foundation’s 2015 Night at the Oscars.

High school students from all around the county gathered on April 30 with their families and foundation donors at Cornerstone Christian Church to celebrate successes.

Davie High’s Jazz Ensemble opened the show and the air of excitement heightened as hosts Jane Simpson, foundation president, and George Webb, chair, took the stage. One by one foundation board members were introduced to describe the 41 “Oscar Scholarships”.

Each presentation ended with “the Scholarship Oscar goes to…” bringing about a great deal of surprise and excitement as names were read and trophies presented. Young people in attendance only knew they had been invited. No one knew who the recipients of the Scholarship Oscars would be.

Oscar recipients honored the donors throughout the evening by presenting them with a wrapped rose in thanks for the generosity they had shown students by establishing a scholarship endowment. By the end of the evening, 70 Oscars had been presented.

“The Oscar theme is a tradition now,” said George Webb. “The students love it and our donors enjoyed the opportunity to talk with the high school recipients of their named scholarships. It has turned out to be a great way to honor our young people and give them the opportunity to meet and thank the donors.”

Following the photo-ops, guests enjoyed an array of refreshments as they congratulated the scholars. The foundation’s SURF board youth grantmakers welcomed guests and assisted with the evening’s activities. Sponsors were BB&T; Donald Bowles, CPA; Dwight Sparks and Davie Enterprise Record; Walmart of Mocksville; Grady and Cathy McClamrock Jr. and Dr. and Mrs. Bill Steed.

Now in its 27th year, the Davie Community Foundation has awarded more than $500,000 in scholarships to residents of Davie County. Fifty-one endowed scholarships are administered by the foundation, with five first-time scholarships being awarded this year.

In addition to the high school recipients awarded at the Oscars, 25 college students received awards.  Scholarships have a variety of criteria and focuses set by the donors who establish them.

For more information about existing scholarship endowments or about establishing new ones, visit or contact Simpson at 753-6903;

Scholarship Recipient

Angie Slabach Memorial Scholarship Tatum Edwards

Bill Foster Scholarship Katera Cockerham; Caitlin Rigolini

Bobby and Bernice Knight Scholarship DeJah Joyner

Community Scholarship Matti Bowles;  Brant Dupree; Seth Jones; Kathleen Justen; Samuel Motley;

Nick Sinopoli; Ranni Roscios;

Madelyne Voreh;PeytonSell;

Caitlin Rigolini

Crenshaw Family Scholarship Tatum Edwards

CW & Barbara Allen Scholarship Michael Fouts

Davie County Crosby Scholarship Caleb Dyer; Hampton Smith;

Danielle Wood

Davie Training School – CDHS Reunion McKayla Bohannon;

Jahkarius Hargrove; Joel Ryan Robinson

Davie High Class of 1959 Scholarship Tiffany Fleming

Davie High Class of 1962 Scholarship Kamryn Osborne

Davie High Class of 1963 Scholarship Joshua Wood

Davie High Class of 1976 Scholarship Blaise Bennett

DC Education Scholarship Corey Tilley

Diana Springer Scholarship Trust Victoria Long; Kathleen Barber;

Allie Slabach; Katarzyna Leszcuk

Dianne and Allen Snipes Scholarship Anna Carter

Dorothy Rucker Graham Scholarship Ashley Wark

Grady McClamrock Sr. Scholarship Kacy Yount; Karissa Leazer;

Krystal Beam

Hanes Smith Scholarship Joshua Lankford

Helen C. Gantt Memorial Scholarship Corey Tilley

Helen Page Crenshaw Scholarship Tatum Edwards

Jackie Lee Nichols Memorial Scholarship Tiffany Fleming

James and Esther Wall Scholarship Tatum Edwards

James E. and Lelia N. Essic Scholarship Laura Barney; Johnathan Dunn;

David Gosnell; Taylor O’Neal; Anna Carter

James Illing Scholarship Joshua Lankford

James McGuire Scholarship Jaeline Anguiano; Bobby Sweat;

Ashley Wark; Sara Ataalla; Logan Dunn;

Adam Elshanawany; Haley Ginther;

Malgorzata Leszczuk; Artist Plott;

Tori Williams; Lee Ziglar

Jerry Lynn Berrier Scholarship Kyle Saarm

Jim Bremer Memorial Scholarship Brittany  Landreth

Jim Tutterow Memorial Scholarship Jordain Taylor

Joe Phillips Memorial Scholarship Katherine Allison

John and Hazelanne Barber Scholarship Jaeline Anguiano

Judge George Fuller Mem. Scholarship   Kathleen Justen

Louise Stroud/Jessie Stroud Hinkle

Music Scholarship  Brianna Moore

MALLMARK Eagle Scout Scholarship Karl Kassel

Mary Wilson Stone Rodwell Scholarship Emily Woods

Mocksville Masonic Lodge Scholarship  Asiah Peterson

North Davie Ruritan Scholarship Elizabeth Heafner; Jordan Myers;

Madison Sweitzer

Phyllis Potter Leadership in

Education Scholarship  Tatum Edwards

Rotary Club of Mocksville Scholarship Rachel Baker; Lake Billings;

Melanie Fichialos; Elizabeth Heafner;

Kamryn Osborne; Christina Rowe

Roy and Ruth Eldridge Scholarship Tiffany Fleming; Morgan Fuller;

Brandon Miller; Afton Tillman;

Alexandra Dyer; Kacy Yount

Ruby Morris Markland Mem. Scholarship Tatum Edwards

Samuel P. Hall Memorial Scholarship Kimberly Paige Berryhill

Spurgeon Goss Memorial Scholarship Joshua Lankford

Tom Cowden Memorial Scholarship Tiffany Fleming

White-Martin Scholarship Andrew Chambers; Karl Kassel;

BrittanyLandreth; Uriel Navarro;

Anna Carter; Mekayla Boswell;

James Ferguson