Early College yearbook wins award

Published 10:22 am Wednesday, March 4, 2015

Davie County Early College’s 2013-14 yearbook, Be Bold, has been recognized for excellence and featured in the 2015 Jostens Look Book, celebrating the best-of-the-best in yearbook design and coverage.

The Jostens Look Book is a collection of spreads and photos from yearbooks and their themes, covers, designs, coverage, storytelling, and  photography.

Along with design excellence, the annually published Look Book honors the important role well-crafted yearbooks play in helping schools chronicle the experiences, stories and achievements most relevant to students and that year.

The 2013-14 yearbook was created by Bibiana Arroyo, Andrew Chambers, Karl Kassel, Taylor O’Neal, Brittani Mohat, Shodeah Kelly, and Tanner Smith under the direction of Teri Davies and Joni Russell, DCEC’s yearbook advisers.

“We are so excited to be featured in the Jostens Look Book. It is an honor for our class, and I am glad to see all of our students’ hard work be recognized,” .Russell stated.

The DCEC Be Bold yearbook was one of 476 yearbooks selected from approximately 3,000. The 2015 panel of judges, comprised of nationally recognized scholastic journalism professionals and award-winning yearbook advisers, selected the best examples of yearbook spreads and covers to make up the 344-page 2015 Look Book.

“Yearbooks are unique, limited edition books created by students to capture the stories and events for all of the school’s students and Jostens is proud to celebrate the yearbook tradition and the 476 yearbooks selected for the 2015 Jostens Look Book, said Gary Lundgren, editor. “Today’s yearbooks are sophisticated in terms of visual presentation and the relevant and inclusive content that is featured.”

Russell and her yearbook staff received a copy of the Look Book and certificate from Jostens to recognize their achievement.