All-SPC teams for fall are released

Published 12:00 am Monday, December 16, 2013

The South Piedmont Conference announced All-SPC teams for fall sports on Sunday.
Carson linebackers MyQuon Stout, Anthony McCurry and Patrick Ratliff, running back Brandon Sloop, offensive lineman Cody Rodriguez and defensive lineman Ryan Bearden were named All-SPC. West Rowan players on the All-SPC list are offensive lineman Chris Hassard, linebacker Nick Collins and safeties Najee Tucker and Zeke Blackwood. East Rowan’s All-SPC players are quarterback Samuel Wyrick, receiver Seth Wyrick, defensive lineman Austin Hill and defensive back Donte Means. South Rowan’s All-SPC players are offensive lineman Greg Keller and defensive lineman Alex Parham.
The SPC Offensive Player of the Year is Central Cabarrus running back Kenny Purvis. The SPC Defensive Player of the Year is Concord linebacker Logan Sedergren. The SPC Special Teams Player of the Year is Hickory Ridge kick returner Nate Mullen. The SPC Coach of the Year is Concord’s Glen Padgett.
Concord’s other All-SPC players are Rocky Reid, Ike Barnhardt, Myles Neils, Keenan Black, Darnell Cassell, Qua Grissom and Jerry Burk. Central Cabarrus’ other All-SPC players are Hasaan Klugh, Anthony Mullis, John Hartsell, Miguel Lopez, Josh Stewart and Riley McGee. Hickory Ridge’s other All-SPC players are Kyle Tyson, Jarel Crawford and Will Putnam. Northwest Cabarrus’ All-SPC players are Armon Dooley, Chris Webb, Anthony Caldwell and J.D. Murray. Cox Mill’s All-SPC players are Brian Jernigan, James Dees, Tre Knox and Ryan Matson.
Carson’s Justin Buckwalter was named SPC Coach of the Year for boys soccer, and West Rowan’s Zack Sheppard was named SPC Goalkeeper of the Year.
The SPC Player of the Year was James Max Miller.
Carson’s Sam Cooley, Colton Correll, Brandon Flores, Ivan Hernandez, Garrett Owens and Pedro Perez made All-SPC. East Rowan’s Charles Goff made All-SPC, along with South Rowan’s Angel Dominguez and Tony Ramirez.
East Rowan’s Rick Roseman was named SPC Coach of the Year for boys cross country. East’s Jason Troutman, Justin Allen, Chance Brown, Josh Rowell and Conor Honeycutt are on the All-SPC team.
Carson’s Zachary Marchinko and West Rowan’s Jordan Bostian made the All-SPC team. The SPC Runner of the Year was Hickory Ridge’s Alex Cornwell.
• In girls cross country, West’s Rebecca Parker and Josie Heglar and East’s Faith Blume and Tori Gaul made All-SPC. Northwest Cabarrus’ Keith Rhoney is the SPC Coach of the Year. Northwest’s Emma Hand is the SPC Runner of the Year.
Carson’s Michaela White is the SPC Player of the Year for volleyball, and Carson’s Kelan Rogers is the SPC Coach of the Year.
Carson’s Madison Weast, Hannah Elmore and Laura Vaughn joined White on the All-SPC team. East Rowan’s Karleigh Wike and West Rowan’s Anna Messisco made the All-SPC team.
East Rowan’s Kathryn Marcum and Grace Stokes, South Rowan’s Alexandria Bare and West Rowan’s Kelly Boley made All-SPC in golf.
The SPC Coach of the Year is Cox Mill’s Sandy Fox. The SPC Player of the Year is Cox Mill’s Jaime Cassell.
East Rowan’s Lizzie Weaver is the SPC Player of the Year for girls tennis, and East’s Sunni Hill is the SPC Coach of the Year.
Joining Weaver on the All-SPC team from East were Laura Agner and Rebecca Agner. Carson’s Sara Lentz and Laura Isenhour made All-SPC, along with West Rowan’s Tori Adams.
While 99.9 percent of basketball fans have never heard of the Cruzin’ Classic, there will be some local interest in that tournament next week.
Livingstone’s men’s basketball team, 5-0 and ranked 13th in D-II, will be playing in the Classic in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., on Tuesday and Wednesday.
Livingstone takes on host Nova Southeastern (2-6) on Tuesday at 8 p.m.
The 4 p.m. game on Wednesday is a feature event. Livingstone will take on Drury, the school in Springfield, Mo., that won the D-II national championship last season.
Drury is very strong again and lost 81-65 to Duke in an exhibition game.
Officially, the Panthers are 7-0 this season, extending their winning streak to 30 straight games. They are ranked third nationally.
Obviously, this will be a big test for the Blue Bears, who have the potential to have a powerful team.
“It’s game that gives us a chance to find out exactly where we are,” Livingstone coach James Stinson said.
Livingstone will also play in the Marriott Classic in Boca Raton while it’s in Florida.

East Rowan won five matches on Saturday in a tournament at Anson County.
East won 58-24 against Purnell Swettl 53-30 against Richmon Senior, 45-36 against Anson, 69-12 against St. Paul’s and 51-27 against Butler.
East’s Sam Cornacchione, Jeff Burrell, Wyatt Blume, Shiheem Saunders and Jake Boltz went 5-0.
Wesley Porter went 4-0. Logan Haas was 3-0. Jack Werner and Marcus Warren were 2-0.
East (8-2, 1-0 SPC) returns to the mat Tuesday when it hosts SPC opponent Northwest Cabarrus at 6:30 p.m.
The North Hills Eagles won 83-77 against Grace Academy as Leonard Murdock and Chris Taylor scored 26 points each. Ian Bradshaw had 13 points, and Austin Patterson had eight.
Patterson had 13 rebounds. Murdock and Taylor pulled down 11 each.
• The North Hills varsity girls won 51-17 against Hickory Challenger.
Candace-Craig Lyerly scored 18 points for the Eagles (2-3). Natalie Whicker had 14 points.
Davie County’s girls lost to North Davidson on Friday.
Madison Bohannon had 20 points and six assists for the War Eagles.
Jessie Beck had eight points, eight steals, 13 rebounds and five assists. K’lea Parks had eight points, four steals and three assists.
In the Carolinas PGA Charles Tilghman Junior Championships, South Rowan’s Davis Richards shot 69-73 — 142 and tied for second in the 15-16 age division. He tied for third overall.
East Rowan’s Nick Lyerly shot 75-77 and tied for 14th in the 15-16 division.
• In the Winternational Jr. Series Event No. 3 in Pinehurst, West Rowan’s Jake Kennedy shot 77-75 — 152 for second place in the Junior/Senior Division.
• In the Winternational Jr. Series Event No. 3 in Pinehurst, Salisbury’s Christopher Queen shot 89-82 — 171 for 12th place in the Freshman/Sophomore division.
• The McCanless Couples played a three-person Captain’s Choice on Sunday.
The team of Harry Owens and Gene and Mary Seaford finished first. The team of Walt and Kim Kincaid and Don Goodnight finished second. Sharon Miller won closest to the pin, and Mary Seaford won longest putt.
Gray Stone’s Hope Moua, Jordan Redman, Sydney Freeman and Maggie Habeeb were named All-YVC in volleyball.
• Gray Stone’s John Latimer, Ian Lins, Sean Lavook and Brandon Fortin were named All-YVC in boys soccer. Latimer was Player of the Year for the YVC West.
• Gray Stone’s Dennis Collins, Josh Rolan, Reid Huckabee, David Cowan, Jordy Featherstone and Patrick Parsons made All-YVC in boys cross country.
• Gray Stone’s Caroline McLeod, Annie Habeeb, Virginia Currie, Jennie Wagner, Kelsey Kiser, Megan Brickner and Tori Thompson made All-YVC. Gray Stone’s Mike Furr is the YVC Coach of the Year. McLeod is the YVC Runner of the Year.
• Gray Stone’s Meghan Hedgepeth, Libby Fowler, Brooke Herlocker and Caby Styers are All-YVC tennis.
Gray Stone’s Jeff Walter is YVC Coach of the Year. Fowler is YVC Player of the Year.