Frye First To File For Municipal Office

Published 12:00 am Thursday, July 18, 2013

Former county commissioner Johnny Frye was the first to file for municipal office, seeking a four-year term on the Mocksville Town Board as filing for offices in Mocksville, Cooleemee and Bermuda Run began last week.
Also filing for four-year terms in Mocksville were incumbents Lash Gaither Sanford and Richard Broadway. Rob Taylor filed for a two-year term.
Albert C. Zouky filed for a seat on the Bermuda Run Town Council.
Filing will continue through noon on Friday, July 19 at the Davie County Board of Elections, Poplar Street, Mocksville.
Mocksville seats to be elected include the ones held by Broadway and Sanford, and the one being filled by Amy Vaughn Jones, who was appointed when Bill Foster died. The unexpired two-year term is currently held by Taylor, who was appointed to replace Buster Cleary, who also died.
Bermuda Run seats up for election are held by Shirley Cagle, Andrew Hewitt and Ed Coley.
Cooleemee will choose two commissioners, seats held by Chris Branham and Don Cover …