Bed race winners announced

Published 3:35 pm Thursday, December 1, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By Jeanna Baxter White

Word Master Media Group

Mocksville raced into the Christmas season on Nov. 18 with the 10th Annual “Twas the Night Before” Bed Race as 16 teams made a mad dash down Main Street.

Race announcer Justin Blue kept the crowd cheering and in the holiday spirit with tricycle races, rock/paper/scissors contests, and partner wheelbarrow races. Throughout the evening, DJ Barry Rentz had folks dancing in the streets.

“Once again, another terrific night for Mocksville.There were lots of creative beds and several new faces,” said Tami Langdon, community development coordinator. A huge thanks to the teams that continue to be a part of this event.

“I’m also grateful to our sponsor, our many volunteers, Town of Mocksville staff, public works, parks & grounds, Mayor Will Markland, Davie County Sheriff’s Office, and Barry Rentz with the Mobile Jukebox, for making the event such a success.

“It takes a team to create this event, and I work with a wonderful group who leads the way. Special thanks to Denise Hendrix for always being organized with details of the maps and getting those heats together quickly; Jordan Hendrix, the elf and manager of the social media; Trevor Walterman, the bed sled guru with tips to build a bed and how to be creative with your design; and Justin Blue, announcer and the guy inspiring the audience to play the games and dance in the streets.”

At stake were prizes for speed and creativity. The fastest team, Just for Fun, took home $200, while the runner-up, Avgol’s Chad’s Pack, collected $125. Green Meadows Baptist Church’s Green Meadows Mission 1, the third-place finisher, rolled away with $75.

Green Meadows Mission 1 Davie also picked up $100 for having the best team spirit, and Skyline National Bank received $100 for the most original bed.

A Total Package prize of $100 went to Mocksville Dentistry’s Tooth Fairies for having the best overall appearance and combination of bed decoration, message, and costumes.

First: “Just for Fun,” Junior Romero, Archer Richardson, Zander Richardson, Landor Waller, and Karl Swartz/Team Captain.

Second:  Avgol “Chad’s Pack,” Nick Cristiano, Danielle Morra, Taryn Winner, Destiny Swanner and Maria O’Neill/Team Captain.

Third: Green Meadows Baptist Church “Green Meadows Mission 1, Jacob Walker, Cole Thomas, Gracie Wilson, Bryce Wilson, Reese Ward/Rider, Matt Davidson/Team Captain, and Kirklin Bowles/Alternate. The team was also first for Best Team Spirit.

Most Original Bed: Skyline National Bank, Alex Fox, Travis Morgan, Milo Cockerham,  Lori Wagner, Josh Draughn/Team Captain, andTyler Kilmer/Alternate.

Total Package: Mocksville Dentistry “Tooth Fairies,” Myra Key, Michelle Moore, Brian Moore, Kim Caputo, Jason Caputo/Team Captain.

Other Teams

• Carolgale Builders “Disco Dreaming, ” Paul Gale IV, Jeremy Brassard, Paul Gale V, Heidi Gale, Lindsay Brassard, Chris Branham/ team captain.

• Cognition “STEAM,”  Becca Lard, Bryan White, Kerigan Martin, Brandy Koontz, Jessica Huyett/team captain.

• DDCC “Welding Duke Boys,” Jesse Naylor, Randy Webb, John Sapp, Clayton Pilcher, Connor Hutchens/team captain, Bailey Vaughn/alternate.

• Liberty Storage Solutions “Team Maverick,” Dereck Chipman, Austin Mckay, Tim Johnson, Jacob Croker, Dominic Mullett/team captain, Hayley Crisco/alternate.

• Main St. Brokers, Kevin Huggins, Rick Donathan, Jason Cibelli, Meghan Chessall, Sean Van Dyke/team captain, Fam Chessall/alternate.

• “Oh Deer,” Victor Johnson, Isaiah Johnson, Kaitlynne Dillon, Chad Russell, Desiree Johnson/team captain.

• Pallet One, Casey Dyson, Joe Salazar, Alex Higgins, Cruz Carrasco, Landon Miller, Dennis Sayavong/alternate

• Reeb, James Hall, Bryson Brown, Logan Guinn, Joe Watson, Issac Beasley/team captain, Luke Benton/alternate.

• SURF, Avery Yount, Brooklyn Lakey, Sean Lane, Silas Marion, Madi Rogers/team captain, Mia Clair Myers/alternate.

• Trinity Baptist Church Youth Boys, Chris Whittaker, C.J. Mason, Kenny Carter, Simon Foster, Ethan Franklin/team captain, Quinntin Longoria/alternate.

• Trinity Baptist Church Youth Girls, Savi Carter, Emma Perry, Emily Harwood, Rachel Beck, Elizabeth Vanderbrook/team captain, Mady Isaac/alternate.