Club donates to foundation

Published 9:57 am Thursday, February 9, 2017

By Anna McBride

BR Garden Club

The Bermuda Run Garden Club celebrated completion of a successful year and the installation of this year’s officers at a luncheon meeting Feb. 1 at Bermuda Run Country Club.

The officers for 2017-18 are:  Bonnie Rockaway, president; Diane Burke, first vice president; Lynn Marcellino, second vice president; Patricia “PJ” Guerra, secretary; and Cathy Zeitvogel, treasurer.

On hand to preside over their installation at the close of the meeting was N.C. Garden Club District 4 Director Mary Ann Spainhour.  She presented each officer with a key symbolizing the unique qualifications required for her position. She also announced that former BRGC President Peggy Shuppert is taking the position of vice director of District 4.

A highlight of the meeting was the presentation of a check for $3,000 to the Davie Community Foundation. Accepting this contribution was Jane Simpson, foundation president. These funds are to be equally divided among the Pearls of Empowerment, the Children’s Reading Fund for summer programs, and the Bermuda Run Garden Club Endowment Fund.

Simpson was especially appreciative of the endowment contribution to the Healthy Davie Challenge, and she encouraged all members and residents of the county to become involved in the goal of one billion steps in 100 days. Any county resident interested in participating should register at

The business meeting included outgoing president Peggy Shuppert reviewing the many programs and projects accomplished by the club and its members during 2016. She cited 60 programs successfully operated or supported by the club, including several involving Davie County Schools, Storehouse for Jesus, beautification projects, environmental conservation, senior services activities, and more.

Director Spainhour commented that the number of state awards for which BRGC members applied was more than the combined total for all other clubs in District 4.

Member Cindy O’Hagan was singled out for winning the top award in the state for designing the club Yearbook.

Bonnie Rockaway adjourned the meeting with new committee chairs and members eager to begin another exciting year.