Crowd seeks new Congressional seat

Published 9:46 am Thursday, March 31, 2016

Andrew Brock may have felt like he was blindsided.

When the state legislature re-drew U.S. Congressional district lines, Davie was put into a new 13th district that includes Davidson County, almost all of Iredell, and a portion of Rowan and Guilford counties. It stretches from Mooresville to Greensboro.

Brock, a state senator from Mocksville, was the first to announce his candidacy for the new district.

Now, when voters go to the polls on June 7 for the primary election, they will have plenty of choices: 17 Republicans, five Democrats and an Independent.

Brock is not the only Davie resident running for the US Congress, either. Republicans State Rep. Julia Howard, County Commissioner Dan Barrett, businessman Ted Budd and radio station owner Farren Shoaf all also want the position.

Not all of the candidates live in the district, which is not a requirement.

The other Republican candidates: John Blust, Kay Daly, Kathy Feather, Chad Gant, Hank Henning, Matt McCall, Vernon Robinson, George Ruoco, Jim Snyder, David Thompson, Jason Walser and Harry Warren.

Democrats will choose from Adam Coker, Bruce Davis, Mazie Ferguson, Kevin Griffin and Bob Isner.

Nicholas Tolerton is running as an Indepent.